Remake: Chocolate Chip Cookies

The truth is, I’m not really a sweets person. I mean, I get why people are into sweets. It’s not that they don’t taste good, but I just don’t crave sweets the way others do. So I can stop at just one cookie, or just a couple bites of cake, and sweets aren’t the kind of thing that really live in my house. chocolate chip cookies

But when I do decide to indulge what hint of a sweet tooth I might have, I like to go back to the basics. I’m a cookies and brownies fan when I am a sweets fan, so I thought this week’s remake dish would be a fun project. And thankfully, I work with an office full of people who will eat any sweet, especially those with chocolate, if you leave it up for grabs in the kitchen break room.

I spent a couple days mulling over what I should do for our cookies with chips week, and I had a couple different ideas. But then, one morning while I was driving to work, inspiration struck, and I yelled out “Cookie cups!” (Have you ever considered what a good thing it is that no one is spying on you when you’re driving by yourself?)

I googled cookie cup recipes for ideas on what to do for topping. I would have gone with ice cream, but that wouldn’t sit very nicely for long on the break room table. Instead, I settled for a cream cheese frosting topping with mini chocolate chips. For the cookie dough, I used the recipe on the back of the Ghirardelli chocolate chips cookie bag.

Cookie Dough Ingredients

2 1/4 cups flour (I substituted with whole wheat flour)

3/4 cup white sugar

3/4 brown sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup butter

2 cups chocolate chips

Topping Ingredients

8 oz. cream cheese

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 responses to “Remake: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

