Remake: Chocolate Chip Cookies

So that sweet tooth that Carrie doesn’t have… she’s missing it because I stole it. The word love doesn’t even cover it. Cookies, cake, ice cream, dessert bars, candy, gummies, I’ll take all of it, all day.

My mom was always the baker in my family, meaning that she would buy that tub of pre-made cookie dough and drop a few balls of it in the oven every once in a while. I love traditional chocolate chip cookies as much as the next person (ok, probably more), but I really like to mix things up and make cookies a little more special, which is a really great thing about this recipe (you can put any chips, nuts, candy, ect and they all taste great). I’m also not the biggest fan of crispy cookies, and I don’t know if it’s true or not, but I’ve convinced myself that by using honey in these cookies I’m making them un-crispy-able (no brown sugar (bs)).

I’m a giver when it comes to cooking, I love making everyone’s favorite food. My boyfriend and I’s very good friend Ben just moved from Denver to go to Duke, and when cookies came up as this week’s remake I knew I was going to make him these cookies for the road, because he always scoops them up when he comes over. Mother nature tried to deter my plans by making it 100 degrees in my house all week, so the cookies came out a bit flatter than usual, but they tasted just as good.

No BS Cookies

2 1/2 C Flour

2 Eggs

1tsp vanilla Estract

1 tsp baking soda

1 c white sugar

2 tbs honey

1 1/4 c butter (either use salted or use unsalted and add 3/4 tsp salt)

Your choice of mix ins (about 1- 1 1/2 c)

Preperations

Preheat overn to 380 degrees. Cream together butter, sugar and honey. Stir in eggs and vanilla. Add flour and baking soda, and once all is combined fold in your mix ins.

Place teaspoon sized balls of dough about 1 1/2 inches apart on a cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes, rotating halfway through.

Yields about 50 cookies.

 

Leave a Reply

