Remake: Pizza

I’m starting to think that for every remake, I’m going to end up doing some kind of mini version. I swear that’s not what I’m trying to do.

You know how sometimes you’re playing that dumb question game and someone asks you if you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be? My answer would be pizza. I love pizza, guys. I love how pizza tastes different every time depending on what you select as your toppings, and I love how it comes in so many potential possibilities. Pizza is versatile and tasty, and that makes it great. pizza appetizer

Though I bounced around several ideas on what to do for the pizza remake week, I finally settled on pizza puffs. I bookmarked this recipe ages ago, but still hadn’t made it yet. Now, the universe was clearly telling me the time had come to tackle pizza puffs.

They turned out very light and airy, and adorable in their little mini muffin shape. I recommend them as a party appetizer because they’re the perfect bite size finger food, and they were thrown together very quickly. They needed a tad more flavor so next time, I’ll probably use a bigger pinch of salt and a bigger pinch of red pepper flakes.

Pizza Puffs (recipe from Lick the Bowl Good)

Makes 24 mini muffins

Ingredients

3/4 cup flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp Italian seasoning

Pinch of salt

Pinch of crushed red pepper flakes

1 egg, lightly beaten

3/4 cup milk

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

1 cup cubed pepperoni

handful of spinach, roughly chopped (my boyfriend’s addition, which worked out really nicely)

marinara sauce, for dipping

Preparations

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and seasonings. Add milk, egg, cheeses, and pepperoni. Stir and let stand for 10 minutes. Stir in spinach. Drop batter into greased mini muffin tins. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with warm marinara sauce for dipping.

2 responses to “Remake: Pizza

Leave a Reply

