Remake: Potato Salad

Funny that potato salad is our remake this week, and that our friend Helene had her baby this week too, because I didn’t actually eat potato salad until last year at her house. My mom and dad aren’t big potato salad fans, so I thought that I didn’t like it either, and avoided it .

Jump to last September. I was spending the day with Helene and her boyfriend, Matt, and they were making me dinner, and Matt’s excitement for “p-salad” with dinner intrigued me enough to throw some on my plate. And then more. And more.

Turns out, I really like p-salad, but it’s one of those things that I don’t let myself eat all of the time because of all the mayo in it, so I wanted to figure out a remake that would take out the mayo, but still have a great zingy flavor.

And so here we go. Roasted French Onion Potato Salad. Not your traditional potato salad, but not something that I’ll ever pass up on the picnic table.

Roasted French Onion Potatoes

4-5 Red Potatoes

2 medium Red Onions

2 packets Lipton French Onion Seasoning (the stuff you usually make dip with)

Olive Oil

Salt

Preparations

Preheat oven to 450. Rinse off your potatoes and dice up to the general size of “home fries”. Dice the onions up to the same size. Coat with olive oil and then with seasoning.

Roast in the oven uncovered for about 30-40 minutes (toss occasionally to ensure even cooking), or until they are soft enough to easily pierce with a fork. Taste and add salt if you see fit (mine were a bit bland, so I added just a bit).

Turn on your broiler and brown the potatoes up. This also makes the onions a bit sweeter/caramelized.

Try not to eat them all before you get to your destination.

 

 

One response to “Remake: Potato Salad

Leave a Reply

