Remake: Cold Cut Sandwiches

Everybody seems to think sandwiches are the perfect lunch. But why? A sandwich is only as good as its bread and its ingredients, and too many place are subpar on one, the other, or both. So I like sandwiches, but I don’t always find them very satisfying, and I don’t end up craving them very often.

Turkey SandwichHowever, there are a few sandwiches from some local Tucson restaurants that have always made me pretty happy. One of them is a turkey pesto from Chocolate Iguana, a small coffee shop near downtown Tucson and U of A, as well as my old high school. I frequented Chocolate Iguana a fair amount when I was in high school, and I always enjoyed this sandwich: turkey on a baguette with pesto sauce, mozzarella, and roasted red peppers. So I remade a version of this sandwich for this week’s cold cuts remake. The result? Deliciousness.

Turkey Pesto Goat Cheese Sandwich

Ingredients

1 demi French baguette

sliced deli turkey

goat cheese

pesto sauce

sliced Roma tomatoes

Preparations

Slice the baguette in half. Spread one side with pesto sauce, and the other side with goat cheese. Top with turkey and tomatoes and toast in the oven for 5-10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

