Cheater Chicken Noodle Soup

I love soups. Love, love, love them. And, even though I live in Arizona, and it gets to be 110 in the summer, I’ll still want soup for lunch. This week one of the meals I decided to prepare on Sunday to be able to eat for lunch for the next few days was what I’ve dubbed “cheater chicken noodle soup.” I don’t have a lot of time (in case you haven’t noticed) so I don’t like to spend all day simmering soup on the stove and making my own chicken stock and whatever else. Here’s what I do instead.

Cheater Chicken Noodle Soup 

sliced baby carrots (because then I don’t have to peel them)

2 stalks sliced celery

1 medium diced onion

1/2 diced zucchini

1 boiled chicken breast, shredded

1 container of reduced sodium chicken broth

thyme

oregano

ground black pepper

salt

garlic

Preparations

1. Add a little olive oil to your soup pot or Dutch oven. When hot, add onions, celery, and carrots. Cook until slightly tender.

2. Add chicken broth, spices to taste, shredded chicken, and zucchini. Simmer for at least 20 minutes, longer if you can stand it. Taste after 20 minutes, season accordingly, and simmer until you can’t fight the hunger off any longer.

3. While the soup is simmering, boil noodles of choice (mine are usually elbow because that’s what my mom did) according to package directions.

4. Add noodles to bowl, pour soup over noodles, and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

