Holiday M&M Cookies

There’s nothing like the holiday season to inspire baking. I was actually intending on making another dish tonight, a coconut vodka tomato sauce, but neglected to buy more vodka. Since I spent all day running around, I couldn’t stand the thought of even the five-minute drive to the store. I decided to push the tomato sauce off to tomorrow and bake these holiday M&M cookies instead.

The M&Ms were an impulse buy while standing in the Target check-out line, and I knew right away I would just bake with them. I realized a while back I have a thing for M&M cookies, though I hardly ever eat them, and the red and green just seemed so festive and Christmas-y. I don’t have  a standard cookie recipe, so of course I went straight to Google and found this great M&M cookie recipe from Bake or Break. I was a little worried at first because you use more brown sugar than white which creates a funny consistency and color when you’re creaming the butter and sugar, but it worked out. I gave the cookies to my sister to take to the Arizona Daily Wildcat staff, and she told me they were very well-received.cookies

Holiday M&M Cookies (recipe from Bake or Break)

Ingredients

2 cups plus 2 Tbsp all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 and a 1/2 cups red and green M&Ms

Preparations

1. Melt butter in microwave and set aside to cool.

2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

3. Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

4. Beat together brown sugar, granulated sugar, and butter.

4. Add egg, egg yolk, and vanilla, and beat until combined.

5. Gradually add flour to mixture and mix just until combined. Stir in M&Ms.

6. Roll cookie dough into balls and place about an inch to 2 inches apart on cookie sheets.

7. Bake for 15-18 minutes, when the centers are still soft and the edges are beginning to brown.

8. Cool on pans before transferring to plate.

Leave a comment